Monday , May 25 2020
Home | Entertainment | NBC Renews ‘Blindspot’, ‘Chicago Fire’ and ‘PD’, FX Renews ‘American Horror Story’

NBC Renews ‘Blindspot’, ‘Chicago Fire’ and ‘PD’, FX Renews ‘American Horror Story’

NBC has issued very early renewals for three of its most successful dramas: freshman thriller Blindspot, firefighter procedural Chicago Fire and Chicago Fire‘s police-based spin off Chicago PD.

Blindspot has proved to be perhaps the most successful new program of the 2015 – 2016 U.S. television season. Created by Martin Gero (Stargate: Atlantis, Dark Matter) and starring Sullivan Stapleton (Strike Back, 300: Rise of an Empire), Jaimie Alexander (Thor: The Dark World, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.), Rob Brown (The Dark Knight Rises, Coach Carter), Audrey Esparza (Black Box, Power), Ashley Johnson (Much Ado About Nothing, The Last of Us), Ukweli Roach (The Royals, Grantchester) and Academy Award nominee Marianne Jean-Baptiste (Secrets & Lies, Without a Trace), the series follows a young woman who is found naked, sealed in a suitcase, in Times Square. Unable to remember anything that happened to her, or even her name, the woman is covered head to toe with strange tattoos that quickly prove to be related to various crimes, drawing the attention of the FBI.

“We are over the moon with the success of Blindspot, and want to thank our producers and amazing cast for creating one of the most riveting shows on television. Jaimie and Sullivan have done an amazing job of ratcheting up the tension each week in trying to unravel the mystery of Jane’s tattoos,” said the President of NBC Entertainment Jennifer Salke. “We literally can’t wait to see what the second season will bring.”

Meanwhile, Chicago Fire will enter its fifth season with its renewal, while Chicago PD will score a fourth. Both programmes were created by two-time Primetime Emmy Award winner Dick Wolf, the man behind the Law and Order media empire, and both are two of NBC’s best performers. Pretty standard procedurals, the shows have also spawned an upcoming medical spin off Chicago Med, set to premiere on Tuesday, November 17, 2015.

Chicago Fire has an ensemble cast starring Jesse Spencer (House, Neighbours), Taylor Kinney (Zero Dark Thirty, Rock the Kasbah), Monica Raymund (Lie to Me, The Good Wife), Dora Madison (Dark Places, Star Crossed), David Eigenberg (Sex and the City, The Mothman Prophecies), Eamonn Walker (Unbreakable, Tears of the Sun), Yuri Sardarov (Argo, The Ides of March), Joe Minoso (Man of Steel, Prison Break), Christian Stolte (Public Enemies, Law Abiding Citizen) and Kara Killmer (Beyond the Mask, Horizon) while Chicago PD features Jason Beghe (The Next Three Days, Thelma and Louise), Jon Seda (Twelve Monkeys, Primal Fear), Sophia Bush (One Tree Hill, John Tucker Must Die), Jesse Lee Soffer (In Time, As the World Turns), Patrick John Flueger (The 4400, Warehouse 13), Marina Squerciati (Gossip Girl, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatball 2), LaRoyce Hawkins (Chicago Fire, Ballers), Elias Koteas (The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, The Thin Red Line), Amy Morton (Up in the Air, Rookie of the Year) and Brian Geraghty (The Hurt Locker, Flight). Chicago Med will star Yaya DaCosta (Tron: Legacy, The Kids Are All Right), Torrey DeVitto (Pretty Little Liars, I’ll Always Know What You Did Last Summer), Rachel DiPillo (Mad Men, Law and Order: Los Angeles), Colin Donnell (Arrow, The Affair), Nick Gehlfuss (Love and Mercy, Shameless), Primetime Emmy Award winner S. Epatha Merkerson (Law and Order, Terminator 2: Judgement Day), four time Primetime Emmy Award nominee Oliver Platt (Huff, The West Wing), Brian Tee (Jurassic World, The Wolverine) and Marlyne Barrett (Hitch, The Wire).

Similarly, FX has issued a season six renewal to its horror anthology series American Horror Story. Created by two-time Primetime Emmy Award winner Ryan Murphy, the series, which is currently airing its fifth season, has proven influential by telling a different story with different characters each season, a format that has been emulated by HBO’s True Detective, FX’s Fargo, ABC’s American Crime and Fox’s Scream Queens, as well as the upcoming shows Slasher, American Crime Story and The Girlfriend Experience

“With the sixth installment coming next year, American Horror Story has unquestionably joined the ranks of television’s landmark series,” John Landgraf, the President of FX said. “From Murder House to Hotel, AHS has pioneered a new television form as well becoming FX’s highest rated show — while also pushing every conceivable boundary of creative excellence and audacity. This is even more remarkable because Ryan and co-creator Brad Falchuk tear up the playbook every year, challenging the entire creative team to come up with something even more spectacular, frightful and entertaining. You could not ask more of an artist, their team or a series and with every new installment they deliver.”

American Horror Story has, at various points throughout its run, starred two-time Academy Award winner Jessica Lange (Blue Sky, Tootsie), four-time Primetime Emmy Award nominee Connie Britton (Nashville, Friday Night Lights), Primetime Emmy Award nominee Dylan McDermott (The Practice, Stalker), Evan Peters (Kick Ass, X-Men: Days of Future Past), Taissa Farmiga (The Final Girls, The Bling Ring), two-time Primetime Emmy Award nominee Denis O’Hare (Dallas Buyers Club, Michael Clayton), Primetime Emmy Award nominee Zachary Quinto (Star Trek: Into Darkness, Heroes), BAFTA Film Award nominee Joseph Fiennes (Shakespeare in Love, Flashforward), four-time Primetime Emmy Award nominee Sarah Paulson (Game Change, Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip), Lily Rabe (The Messengers, All Good Things), Lizzie Brochere (The Strain, The Hour), Academy Award nominee James Cromwell (The Green Mile, LA Confidential), six-time Primetime Emmy Award nominee Frances Conroy (Six Feet Under, The Crucible), Emma Roberts (We’re the Millers, The Art of Getting By), Academy Award winner Kathy Bates (Misery, Titanic), Primetime Emmy Award winner Michael Chiklis (The Shield, Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer), Primetime Emmy Award nominee Finn Wittrock (The Normal Heart, Unbroken), Academy Award nominee Angela Bassett (Malcolm X, Olympus Has Fallen), BAFTA Film Award nominee Wes Bentley (Interstellar, The Hunger Games), Primetime Emmy Award nominee Matt Bomer (The Normal Heart, White Collar), Academy Award nominee Chloe Sevigny (American Psycho, Those Who Kill), Cheyenne Jackson (United 93, Behind the Candelabra) and six-time Grammy Award winner Lady Gaga (Machete Kills, Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For).

About Lawson Kiehne

Lawson Kiehne is an aspiring Australian writer who is fascinated by everything involving stories. In his spare time he enjoys reading, playing video games and watching films and television and hopes to one day be a published novelist.