Friday , February 21 2020
Home | Entertainment | Stephen King’s New Novel Gets A Release Date
Credit: Simon & Schuster

Stephen King’s New Novel Gets A Release Date

The final instalment in Stephen King’s Bill Hodges trilogy has a release date. The 496 page book, published by Simon & Schuster, will be released on June 7, 2016, concluding King’s trilogy which began with 2014’s Mr. Mercedes and continued with this year’s Finders Keepers. Originally titled The Suicide King, this third instalment will conclude the story of Detective Bill Hodges and will feature the return of  Brady Hartsfield, the antagonist of the first book.

According to the book’s blurb “Brady Hartsfield, perpetrator of the Mercedes Massacre, where eight people were killed and many more were badly injured, has been in the Traumatic Brain Injury Clinic for five years, in a vegetative state. According to his doctors, anything approaching a complete recovery is unlikely. But behind the drool and stare, Brady is awake, and in possession of deadly new powers that allow him to wreak unimaginable havoc without ever leaving his hospital room.”

“Retired police detective Bill Hodges, the unlikely hero of Mr. Mercedes and Finders Keepers, now runs an investigation agency with his partner, Holly Gibney, who delivered the blow to Hartsfield’s head that put him on the brain injury ward. Brady also remembers that. When Bill and Holly are called to a murder-suicide with ties to the Mercedes Massacre, they find themselves pulled into their most dangerous case yet, one that will put not only their lives at risk, but those of Hodges’s friend Jerome Robinson and his teenage sister, Barbara. Because Brady Hartsfield is back, and planning revenge not just on Bill Hodges and his friends, but on an entire city.”

End of Watch marks the fifty fifth novel in King’s almost fifty year career, and he shows no sign of stopping. The prolific author put out two new novels in both 2013 and 2014 and is preparing to launch a new collection of short stories on November 3, 2015 titled The Bazaar of Bad Dreams, which includes seventeen stories published online and in magazines over the last six or seven years, as well as three previously unreleased stories.

Multiple adaptations of King’s work are also incoming, including Cell an adaptation of King’s 2006 pseudo zombie thriller starring John Cusack (High Fidelity, Love and Mercy) and Samuel L. Jackson (Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith) set to release within the next year, an adaptation of his acclaimed Dark Tower series set for release on January 13, 2017 from Sony Pictures as well as a miniseries based off of his 2011 novel 11/22/63 set for release on Hulu next year and starring James Franco (Oz the Great and Powerful, Rise of the Planet of the Apes). There’s also a miniseries adaptation of Mr Mercedes in the works from producer David E. Kelly (The Practice, Boston Legal) and director Jack Bender (Lost, The Last Ship).

About Lawson Kiehne

Lawson Kiehne
Lawson Kiehne is an aspiring Australian writer who is fascinated by everything involving stories. In his spare time he enjoys reading, playing video games and watching films and television and hopes to one day be a published novelist.