Thursday , February 20 2020
Home | Entertainment | “Mad Max: Fury Road” wins best movie of the year according to National Board of Review

“Mad Max: Fury Road” wins best movie of the year according to National Board of Review

Mad Max: Fury Road has been named the best movie of the year 2015 by the National Board of Review.

The film that took movie goers by surprise in May stars Tom Hardy and Charlize Theron, and is set in post apocalyptic Australia. George Miller, creator of the original Mad Max movies, didn’t get award the Best Director award, which went to Ridley Scott for The Martian–the movie that won three awards in total.

“2015 has been a banner year for popular cinema,” said NBR president Annie Schulhof. “We are thrilled to be awarding George Miller and Ridley Scott, two iconic filmmakers at the top of their game, while also celebrating the next generation of talent.”

Mad Max: Fury Road winning best film of the year is definitely stirring up speculations about the action-packed movie being nominated for Best Picture at the Academy Awards, which are only a few months away.

However, only two films that the National Board of Review named as Best Film have won an Oscar for Best Picture: No Country for Old Men in 2007 and Slumdog Millionaire in 2008. Still, there’s no denying that Mad Max: Fury Road has a definite chance of being nominated.

The entire film is a car chase that has viewers on the edges of their seats from start to finish. It’s action-packed, visually astounding, and equipped with a great cast (although the award for Best Actor went to Matt Damon for his role in The Martian). The movie made over $44 million in its opening weekend in the United States and has made over $154 million since.

For the complete list of National Board of Review winners, see below.

Best Film: Mad Max: Fury Road
Best Director: Ridley Scott – The Martian
Best Actor: Matt Damon – The Martian
Best Actress: Brie Larson – Room
Best Supporting Actor: Sylvester Stallone – Creed
Best Supporting Actress: Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight
Best Original Screenplay: Quentin Tarantino – The Hateful Eight
Best Adapted Screenplay: Drew Goddard – The Martian
Best Animated Feature: Inside Out
Breakthrough Performance: Abraham Attah – Beasts of No Nation & Jacob Tremblay – Room
Best Directorial Debut: Jonas Carpignano – Mediterranea
Best Foreign Language Film: Son of Saul
Best Documentary: Amy
William K. Everson Film History Award: Cecilia De Mille Presley
Best Ensemble: The Big Short
Spotlight Award: Sicario, for Outstanding Collaborative Vision
NBR Freedom of Expression Award: Beasts of No Nation & Mustang

Top Films
Bridge of Spies
The Hateful Eight
Inside Out
The Martian
Straight Outta Compton

Top 5 Foreign Language Films
Goodnight Mommy
The Second Mother
The Tribe

Top 5 Documentaries
Best of Enemies
The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution
The Diplomat
Listen to Me Marlon
The Look of Silence

Top 10 Independent Films
45 Years
Cop Car
Ex Machina
It Follows
James White
Mississippi Grind
Welcome to Me
While We’re Young

About Alyssa Knoop

Alyssa Knoop
Alyssa is a Communications student from Edmonton, Alberta. Her biggest passions are reading, writing, music, and oxford commas.