Monday , April 6 2020
Home | Entertainment | ABC Cancels ‘The Whispers’
Credit: ABC

ABC Cancels ‘The Whispers’

ABC has announced its decision to cancel The Whispers, its freshman science fiction drama, after a single season of thirteen episodes. The summer series, which premiered June 1, 2015 and concluded its run with a cliffhanger on August 31, 2015, was based on the classic Ray Bradbury story Zero Hour from Bradbury’s 1951 short story compilation The Illustrated Man. Ironically, the reason the name changed for television was that an equally brief and unsuccessful series of the same name aired on ABC in 2013.

The Whispers, which was developed by Soo Hugh (Under the Dome, The River) and executive produced by three-time Academy Award winner Stephen Spielberg (Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn), followed FBI specialist Claire Bennigan, who is assigned to investigate a series of accidents occurring around children. The accidents, all quite similar, contain another common factor: each of the children have an imaginary friend named Drill who appears to have orchestrated the accidents by encouraging the children’s behaviour.

Claire quickly began to realize that Drill may not be imaginary at all, and he may have sinister motives. But now, she’ll never discover the truth, nor will we ever discover her fate following the first (and now only) season’s dramatic cliffhanger ending.

This shouldn’t really come as a surprise given the fact that ABC let the cast’s contracts lapse while the show was still airing. However, it does seem a little curious given how empty the network’s 2016 summer schedule now appears. With the The Whispers joining Rookie Blue in the great broadcast television network in the sky, the only scripted program ABC has for the middle of 2016 is Mistresses, which enters its fourth season next year.

The Whispers starred Lily Rabe (American Horror Story: Freak Show, What Just Happened), Barry Sloane (Revenge, Hollyoaks), Milo Ventimiglia (Heroes, Gilmore Girls), Kristen Connolly (The Cabin in the Woods, House of Cards), Derek Webster (Damages, CSI: Crime Scene Investigation), Catalina Denis (The Assets, The Tunnel), Kylie Rogers (Space Station 76, Once Upon a Time in Wonderland) and Kyle Harrison Brietkopf (Being Human, Saving Hope).

About Lawson Kiehne

Lawson Kiehne
Lawson Kiehne is an aspiring Australian writer who is fascinated by everything involving stories. In his spare time he enjoys reading, playing video games and watching films and television and hopes to one day be a published novelist.